Home / Lobby activities / Cleveland mayor signs proclamation on centennial celebration of Azerbaijan Democratic Republic

Cleveland mayor signs proclamation on centennial celebration of Azerbaijan Democratic Republic

Mayor of the City of Cleveland, Ohio, U.S., Frank Jackson has signed a proclamation on the centennial celebration of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic.

“On behalf of the citizens of the city of Cleveland, I am honored to offer this proclamation designating May 28, 2018, as the Centennial Celebration of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic in the City of Cleveland,” the proclamation says.

“On May 28th in 2018, Azerbaijan declared its independence establishing the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic, becoming the first secular parliamentary democracy in the Muslim world, and was recognized by other democratic nations, including the United States of America.

During their brief period of initial independence, Azerbaijan granted all people the right to vote regardless of race, gender, ethnicity and religion, becoming the first Muslim nation to grant women equal political rights with men.”

“Azerbaijan was forcefully incorporated into the USSR in 1922, and restored its independence in 1991. Over the last quarter century, the Republic of Azerbaijan has consolidated its sovereignty and independence, and has become a staunch ally and strategic partner of the democratic world,” the proclamation says.

“The city of Cleveland is made up of a diverse fabric of people and the contributions of our Azerbaijani citizens are deeply appreciated and deserve commendation. During this year of centennial celebrations, millions of Azerbaijanis around the globe and many in the City of Cleveland will observe May 28, 2018 as the National Day and remember the contribution of their forefathers to the spread of democracy in the regions of Caucasus, Central Asia and Middle East,” the proclamation says.


Check Also

OSCE MG co-chairs to arrive in Azerbaijan on Feb. 3 – EXCLUSIVE

OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs Igor Popov (Russia), Andrew Schofer (USA) and Stefan Visconti (France) will …